Archive for September, 2014

Dr. Catherine Miller won the Piepgras Award for Clinical Research with her paper, The use of anticoaguation and antiplatelet agents before removal of EVDs – how safe is it? Dr. Paramita Das won the Piepgras Award for Basic Science Research with her presentation, Foxr2: An oncogene in medulloblastoma. Both presentations were given at the Society’s annual academic meeting on Saturday, September 27th, 2014 and the awards were announced by the Society President, Dr. Matthew Hunt, during the dinner at Pazzaluna Restaurant that evening. Each recipient also received a $500 stipend from the Society.

Grant Mallory, MD (Posteorlateral lumbar spinal arthrodesis with femoral head allograft: A case control study) and Christopher Graffeo, MD  (Procedure exposure and confidence (PEAC) survey results – lumbar puncture) received honorable mentions and a $250 stipend for their presentations in the clinical and research categories respectively.

The Society chose twenty-two presentations to be included in the 2014 Academic meeting. Congratulations to Drs. Das, Miller, Graffeo and Mallory and to all the contributors to this year’s program.



Read Full Post »

Scientific Program 2014

2014 Meeting presentationScientific Session I: Spine
8:10 am – 9:40 am
Moderator: Ann Parr, MD, University of Minnesota, Neurosurgery

8:10 – 8:25 am ​Hamid Abbasi, MD, PhD – Oblique lateral lumbar interbody fusion (OLLIF): Technical notes and early results of a single surgeon comparative study
8:25 – 8:40 am ​Mohamed Ali, MBBS – Unrecognized dynamic myelopathy of the cervical spine, a recipe for unnecessary biopsy
8:40 – 8:55 am ​Dominique Higgins, MS – Understanding the impact of obesity on short term outcomes after instrumented spinal fusion
8:55 – 9:10 am​ Grant Mallory, MD – Posteorlateral lumbar spinal arthrodesis with femoral head allograft: A case control study
9:10 – 9:25 am​ Catherine Miller, MD – The use of anticoagulation and antiplatelet agents before removal of EVDs – how safe is it?
9:25 – 9:40 am ​Dino Terzic, MD – Glial scar in spinal cord injury – Surmounting obstacles in spinal cord repair

Scientific Session II: Skull Base and Tumor / Vascular
9:55 am – 11:55 am
Moderator: Michelle Clarke, MD, Mayo Clinic, Neurosurgery

9:55 – 10:10 am ​Anthony Burrows, MD – Endovascular treatment of primary CNS tumors: A review
10:10 – 10:25 am​ Stepan Capek, MD – Perineural tumor spread in pelvic malignancies
10:40 – 10:55 am ​Joshua Hughes, MD – Risk factors for hydrocephalus requiring external ventricular drainage in patients with intraventricular hemorrhage
10:55 – 11:10 am​ Walter Low, PhD – Treatment of ischemic brain injury with human umbilical cord blood stem cells – mechanisms of action
11:10 – 11:25 am​ Zoe Zhang, MD – The preferred anatomic distribution of 1172 brain metastases based on brain volume and regional blood flow
11:25 – 11:40 am​ Waleed Brinjikji, MD – Endovascular and surgical treatment of tentorial dural AV fistulas: A meta-analysis
11:40 – 11:55 am​ Daniel Shepherd, MD – Management of unruptured aneurysms in the elderly

Distinguished Lecturer
Gaylan Rockswold, MD
“The Making of a Neurosurgeon”
12:55 pm – 1:40 pm

Scientific Session III: Functional and Miscellaneous / Peripheral Nerve
1:40 pm – 2:55 pm
Moderator: Anthony G. Bottini, MD, Park Nicollet Clinic

1:40 – 1:55 pm​ Desmond Brown, MD, PhD – Role of neurosurgical biopsy in primary CNS blastomycosis
1:55 – 2:10 pm​ Alper Cesmebasi, MD – The snapping medial antebrachial cutaneous nerve
2:10 – 2:25 pm​ David Darrow, MD – Procedural memory and the basal ganglia: Emerging evidence from two experiments
2:25 – 2:40 pm​ William Gibson – Investigating the neural circuitry effect of ventral capsule/ventral striatum DBS for obsessive compulsive disorder with fMRI
2:40 – 2:55 pm​ Carlos Restrepo, MD – The almost invisible perineurioma

Socioeconomic Session / Trauma
3:10 pm – 4:10 pm
Moderator: Matthew Hunt, MD, University of Minnesota, Neurosurgery

3:10 – 3:25 pm​ Douglas Chyatte, MD – Utility of routine serial surveillance head computerized tomography after closed head injury
3:25 – 3:40 pm​ David Daniels, MD – Pediatric motocross racing: How safe is it?
3:40 – 3:55 pm​ Christopher Graffeo, MD – Procedure exposure and confidence (PEAC) survey results – lumbar puncture
3:55 – 4:10 pm​ Ross Puffer, MD – Patient specific factors affecting cost of lumbar spine surgery

Read Full Post »

The sixth annual academic meeting of the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society began today at The St. Paul Hotel. The weekend includes:

Welcome Reception, 7:00 pm – 10:00 pm, James J. Hill South Room

Breakfast, 7:00 am – 8:00 am, Summit Foyer

Exhibit Tables, 7:00 am – 1:00 pm, Lexington Room

Annual Meeting, 8:00 am – 4:10 pm, Summit Room

Dinner, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm, Pazzaluna Restaurant, 360 St. Peter St., St. Paul, MN

Sunday Breakfast and Business Meeting, 9:00 am – 10:30 am, James J. Hill South Room

Conference attendance continues to be strong; onsite registration is available.

Read Full Post »