Archive for October, 2013

A lively business meeting concluded the 2013 Academic Meeting in Redwing. Discussion centered around planning for the coming year, the status of the organization and the location of the 2014 Academic Meeting.

Meeting Room St JamesDr. Giuseppe Lanzino has concluded his term as president of the organization and his four year term of leadership in the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society. During this time, the Society has witnessed continuing growth and marked improvement in its academic program. The membership and Executive Committee extend our sincere appreciation for his efforts.

Dr. Matthew Hunt has assumed the responsibilities of President of the organization for the next two years. Dr. Hunt also serves as the Residency Program Director at the University of Minnesota.

The Secretary/Treasurer position is now vacant and interested members are encouraged to consider serving in this capacity The term is two years and usually leads to an additional two year term as the president of the organization.

Tentatively, the seventh annual academic meeting will occur in late September, 2014 in St. Paul, MN. The venue and meeting schedule remain undetermined. Members are invited to submit suggestions or to participate on the planning committee for this event.

The next meeting of the Society will occur in late March or early April, 2014.  Agenda items for that meeting will include instillation of officers, communication with the JCNS at the 2014 AANS meeting and planning for the next academic meeting. Venue and speaker will be announced in early 2014.


Read Full Post »

Zoe closeupDr. Zoe Zhang was presented with the David Piepgras Award at the annual Society Meeting in Redwing, MN for her presentation, “Canine Model for Aggressive Meningiomas and the Role of Vaccine Immunotherapy.”

Additional awards for Outstanding Presentation were presented to Dr. Ross Puffer (Treatment of Cavernous Sinus Aneurysms with Flow Diversion: Results in 44 patients); Dr. Catherine Miller (Endovascular and Surgical Management of Dural Sinus Malformation), Dr. Dino Terzic (An Improved Method for Generating Oligodendrocyte Progenitor Cells from Murine Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells) and Mr. Dominique Higgins (Microenvironmental Regulation of Glioblastoma Stem Cells: A Novel Role for Semaphorin3A).

Cash awards accompanied this recognition: $500 for the Piepgras award; $250 each for the Outstanding Presentation Awards

Read Full Post »

MNNS meeting 2013-3Historic levels of attendance, exceptional resident presentations from both Minnesota training programs and a stellar panel addressing current socioeconomic issues affecting the current and future practice of neurosurgery anchored the sixth annual academic meeting of the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society.

Dr. Robert Donley shared personal reminisces from a storied career which included service in Vietnam, training with giants in neurosurgery and neurology and his decades  of practice in Duluth. A past president of the Society (1991-92), his contributions to the Minnesota neurosurgical community and to his own community in northern Minnesota are both substantial and much appreciated.

Read Full Post »