Archive for July, 2011


This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint sponsorship of the AANS and the Minnesota State Neurosurgical Society.  The AANS is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The AANS designates this live activity for a maximum of 10.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.  Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


St. James Hotel

406 Main Street

Red Wing, MN 55066-2359



Meeting registration: To register, complete the attached registration form and return by mail or fax 507-284-5206.  The registration fee includes tuition, syllabus, refreshments, and an evening reception.  Although it is not the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society policy to limit the number of registrants for a meeting, conference room facilities may necessitate closing of enrollment; therefore, early registration is advised.

Hotel Room reservation: To book a hotel room for this meeting, call the St. James Hotel 800-252-1875 and indicate that you are an attendee of this meeting

Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your participation in this meeting, your registration fee, less a $75 administrative fee, will be refunded when written notification is received by the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society before September 10, 2011 (fax#: 507-284-5206).  No refunds will be made after Sept 10, 2011.

The Minnesota State Neurosurgical Society and/or the AANS reserve the right to cancel or postpone any meeting due to unforeseen circumstances.  In the unlikely event that this meeting must be canceled or postponed, the Minnesota Neurosurgical Society will refund the registration fee, but is not responsible for any related costs, charges, or expenses to participants, including fees assessed by airline/travel/lodging agencies.


St. James Hotel

406 Main Street

Red Wing, MN 55066-2359


Centrally located between the Twin Cities and Rochester, the St. James Hotel is easy to find, yet comfortably out of the way. The St. James Hotel is located in historic Red Wing, MN on the Mississippi River. By car it is  approximately 70 minutes southeast of the Twin Cities, 70 minutes north of Rochester and 3 ½  hours south of Duluth. Direction to the St. James Hotel from your location can be obtained on the St. James Hotel web site http://www.st-james-hotel.com.

Lodging Accommodations

Guest rooms have been reserved for attendees and their guests with special meeting rates at the St. James Hotel. To book a hotel room for this meeting, call the St. James Hotel at 800-252-1875. Identify yourself as a participant of the Minnesota State Neurosurgical Society when making your reservation.  Room rates do not include applicable city and state taxes.

program committee

Meeting Director(s)

Anthony Bottini, M.D.

Douglas Chyatte, M.D.

Giuseppe Lanzino, M.D.


Committee Members

Linda Schmieder, AANS Education Coordinator


James Bean, MD

Lexington, KY

Douglas Chyatte, M.D.

Professor of Neurosurgery, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Giuseppe Lanzino, M.D.

Professor of Neurosurgery, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Anthony G. Bottini, MD

Chair, Park Nicollet Neurosurgery

Stephen J. Haines, M.D.,
Lyle A. French Chair and Head of the Department of Neurosurgery, Minneapolia, MN

Matthew Hunt, MD

Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

John Mullan, MD

Neurosurgical Associates, Minneapolis, MN

Michelle Clarke, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Kendall Lee, M.D.

Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Physiology, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Michael Link, M.D.

Professor of Neurosurgery, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

David J. Daniels, M.D., Ph.D.

Resident-Rochester Neurologic Surgery, Mayo Clinic

Ciro A. Vasquez, M.D.

Resident-Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota

Daraspreet Kainth, M.D.

Resident-Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota

Farhan Siddiq, MD

Resident-Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota


Friday September 16, 2011                                                                   

Opening Reception                                                               7:00-10:00 PM

Saturday September 17, 2011                                                               

Scientific Session I                                                                7:30-10:00 AM

Scientific Session II                                                               10:15 AM-12:00 PM

Resident’s Award and Scientific Session III                          1:00-3:00 PM

Scientific Session IV                                                              3:15-5:15 PM

Reception and dinner                                                                       7:00-10:00 PM

Keynote speaker                                                                  8:00-9:00 PM

Sunday September 18, 2011

Scientific Session V                                                               8:30-10:00 AM

Business Session                                                                  10:00-11:00 AM



Minnesota State Neurosurgical Society 2011 Annual CME Meeting

September 16-18, 2011

St. James Hotel

406 Main Street

Red Wing, MN 55066-2359


Download brochure and registration form HERE: 2011 MNNS Brochure Draft

Mail or FAX form with payment to:

Minnesota Neurosurgical Society

ATTN: Mark Wojahn

Department of Neurosurgery

Mayo Clinic


Read Full Post »

Our fall meeting is approaching which will be held in  Red Wing, Minnesota from September 16 – 18, 2011. Please submit topics for presentation by July 15th, 2011. We have had much success in the past in the quality and turn out of our meetings which are driven primarily by our membership participating as speakers in the scientific program. I would also like to especially invite our resident members to submit talks for our resident competition. We are excited to have Dr. James Bean as our keynote speaker for this event.

Please submit abstracts to: Wojahn.Mark@mayo.edu

Read Full Post »